Fitzgerald named finalist for Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year

Larry Fitzgerald is one step closer to adding more hardware to his mantelpiece. On Sunday, the NFL announced that Fitzgerald has been named a finalist for the “Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year.”

Fitzgerald joins Browns left tackle Joe Thomas and Cowboys tight end Jason Witten as the final three, who will vie for the coveted award.

The award is the only league award that highlights a player’s off-the-field service within the community as well as his stellar play on the football field.

Fitzgerald, Thomas and Witten were chosen from among the 32 team nominees for the award.

Each nominee will receive a $1,000 donation from the NFL Foundation for the charity of their choice.

Fitzgerald’s humanitarian work seems to be never ending.

In August, 2012, Fitzgerald was named “Pro Football Weekly’s Humanitarian of the Year” for his amazing community and contributions to various charities.

Fitzgerald also has two foundations that are near and dear to his heart: the Larry Fitzgerald First Down Fund and the Carol Fitzgerald Memorial Fund, both of whom has blessed thousands of people who are, and still are in need.

Fitzgerald has also served as a spokesman for the NFL’s “A Crucial Catch” campaign each of the last three seasons, where he donated funds for each reception and touchdown reception during the month of October.

Fitzgerald has done worldwide work as well.

He’s been heavily involved with the Starkey Hearing Foundation, which provides hearing aids for people in need in Africa.

Fitzgerald has also helped to raise money for the Semper Fi Fund, which aids injured and critically ill members of the military.

The winner of the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award will receive the Gladiator statue, which will be created by acclaimed sculptor Daniel Schwartz.

In addition, the player’s favorite charity will receive an additional $20,000 donation in his name.

The winner will be announced on Saturday, Feb. 2, in New Orleans, La., site of Super Bowl XLVII, during the second annual NFL Honors.

Honors is a two-hour prime time awards show, which will air from 7:00-9:00 p.m. on CBS.